Brooksville City Council Swears in New Members in December accessibility restaurant explore domain room_service shopping_basket arrow-circle-right search instagram linkedin yelp twitter youtube star facebook Trip Advisor

Brooksville City Council Swears in New Members

By Meaghan Goepferich Posted on December 15, 2020

On December 7, 2020, the Brooksville City Council held a Swearing-in Ceremony to welcome in the newly elected Council members.

Brooksville City Council Swears in New Members

The event was held at the Jerome Brown Community Center located in Tom Von Park in order to accommodate the large crowd.
David Bailey, a Hernando County resident of more than 33 years, won Seat 2 against incumbent Joe Bernardini. Bailey, a business owner, has served the community as a board member and volunteer for Operation HeartF.E.L.T. – a non-profit organization whose mission is
to provide nutritious meals to students and their siblings on weekends, holidays, and extended school break periods in Hernando County.

He also volunteers for the Hernando High School Girls’ Golf Team and Girls’ Volleyball Team. Bailey is happily married to his wife Robin and
together they have three children who also live and work locally.

Blake Bell, born and raised in Brooksville, was sworn in for Seat 3, which was left vacant by retiring Council Member, Bill Kemerer. Bell ran against newcomer, Tom Dye, winning a substantial portion of the votes.

Bell is a graduate of the University of South Florida and received his law degree from the Mississippi College School of Law. Bell works as an attorney
in his Brooksville office—specializing in healthcare law and liability reform. Bell received the Hernando County American Legion Citizenship Award and was selected as one of the Business Journal’s Top 40 under 40.

Senator Wilton Simpson who serves as the representative for District 10, performed and witnessed the Oath of Office. Both Council Members will serve four-year terms and are eligible to run for re-election in 2024. Consecutive terms are limited to two, full, four-year terms with a
minimum of a one-year period of time out of office before being allowed to run for council subsequently.


Add comment

Your comment will be revised by the site if needed.