accessibility restaurant explore domain room_service shopping_basket arrow-circle-right search instagram linkedin yelp twitter youtube star facebook Trip Advisor

Hernando commission elects 2019 officers

By Florida's Original NatureCoaster™ Posted on January 16, 2019

At today’s meeting, the Hernando County Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) elected its new officers that will preside for one year. The new officers for 2019 are as follows: Chairman Jeff Holcomb, Vice Chairman John Mitten and Second Vice Chairman John Allocco.

The BOCC is the chief legislative body in the County. It meets the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 9 a.m., with the first Tuesday reserved for workshops, as needed. The BOCC meets in the John Law Ayers Room located on the first floor of the Hernando County Government Center located at 20 North Main Street in Brooksville.

The five county commissioners are elected for four-year terms by the voters at large and represent the geographical district in which they reside. The BOCC approves the county budget, adopts local ordinances and resolutions and establishes policies which govern Hernando County and ensure the health, safety and welfare of the citizens.

(L to R) Vice Chairman John Mitten, Commissioner Wayne Dukes, Chairman Jeff Holcomb, Second Vice Chairman John Allocco, Commissioner Steve Champion

Visit to learn more.