Zephyrhills Chamber Recognizes Excellence and Installs New Board accessibility restaurant explore domain room_service shopping_basket arrow-circle-right search instagram linkedin yelp twitter youtube star facebook Trip Advisor

Zephyrhills Chamber Recognizes Excellence and Installs New Board

By Meaghan Goepferich Posted on November 11, 2020

The Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce presented the 2020 Business and Community Awards Thursday evening during the Chamber’s Annual Member Appreciation and Awards Banquet held at the new Silverado Golf & Country Club venue, 36841 Clubhouse Drive in Zephyrhills. The Z’Hills & all that JAZZ themed affair was attended by a limited number, 150, business and community leaders due to COVID guidelines.

Zephyrhills Chamber Recognizes Excellence and Installs New Board

This year’s theme focused on what makes Zephyrhills great. We were honored to have our very own Danny Burgess MC the event for the fifth year in a row. His “Jazzy” charm and humor brought laughter to the evening and put smiles on faces. Highlights of the evening included music from QLine Entertainment who played jazz to the crowd as everyone gathered and during dinner.

This year the board and awards committee decided to focus on just five categories of awards which showcase businesses, organizations, and individuals who stepped up during these trying times to help others in need, many who supported each other both financially and spiritually, or who were able to shift business models to keep their business viable and employees working.

The evening was filled with reminders of how unique our Zephyrhills Community is and how everyone banded together to make it through this difficult year. Vicky Jones, outgoing Chamber Chairman, thanked everyone for their support throughout this crazy year and asked for each of us to look toward the future with positive thoughts and prayers. Dr. Randy Stovall, incoming Chamber Chairman, talked about the great things the chamber has done to help our businesses survive these last six months including the new JumpStart Z’Hills online series and the success the chamber has had in keeping our businesses in the forefront.

He recognized how unique it is to have the support from every branch
of government including State Senator, State Representative, County Commissioner, and City Council and how grateful we are to work so closely with each of them.

The evening ended as Melonie Monson talked about the Winters Family, who was awarded the Alice Hall award for their lifetime commitment to Zephyrhills. The Winters Family has given much to this
community with the service provided by Gordon & Helen Winters on both the community level and in their business at Winters Park.

They passed this tradition of service down to their children and
grandchildren. The crowd gave a standing ovation as Helen Winters and Bob Winters accepted this award.
Awards were given for exemplary contributions toward the betterment of the greater Zephyrhills community. Nominees were announced for the various categories and winners announced as follows:

2020 Categories and Award winners:

Small Business of the Year – Zephyrhills Brewing Company, for exemplary reputation, product or service, growth, leadership, and corporate citizenship of a business with less than 25 employees. The
ZBC was honored because of their ability to overcome the obstacles placed before them this year.
After being ordered to shut down for months they pulled together with help from the community to flip their business model and to create and even stronger more vibrant, and successful, business.

Large Business of the Year – AdventHealth Zephyrhills, for exemplary reputation, product or service, growth, leadership, and corporate citizenship of a business with 25 or more employees.
AdventHealth Zephyrhills was commended on their exemplary skill to overcome the daily and sometimes hourly changes that were put before them these last six months. Through it all, they kept our
community safe, kept all employees working, and showed the level of professionalism we all should admire.

The Diamond Award – Pasco County School District, for exemplary contribution by a non-profit organization to the betterment of the community. This year’s diamond award winner took our
children’s safety to a new level.
They worked tirelessly to make sure our students could return to school safely – and in the midst of it all went forward with starting to build a much-needed Career & Technical School right here in East Pasco. To top it all off they were named College Board Advanced Placement District of the Year. What a huge accomplishment.

Citizen of the Year –Kevin Bahr, for exemplary contribution to the betterment of the community over the past year. This winner does not like to be recognized and strives to serve behind the scenes, but you know in a small town that is next to impossible. His cell phone is always on and he is the first one to help a friend in need.
When the committee heard of his acts of kindness throughout this pandemic there was no denying who this award was meant for.

Chamber Member of the Year – Sun Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union, for exemplary contribution and service to the Chamber over the past year. This year’s winner not only supported the Chamber both financially and physically when we needed it the most, but they also supported the
community by helping hundreds of you with PPP loans. They jumped up to the plate to support many of our non-profits who have been out in the trenches helping our most vulnerable citizens.

Alice Hall Award – The Winters Family, for exemplary lifetime contribution toward the betterment of the greater Zephyrhills community. The Winters Family are examples of what this lifetime of service
award is all about and we were honored to present them with this prestigious award.

The new 2020-2021 Board of Directors were installed during the banquet as well. The new board members and officers are:

2020-2021 Officers:
Dr. Randy Stovall (PHSC, Provost Emeritus), Chairman
Vicky Jones (Palm Tree Acres MHC), Vice Chair
John Scott (Gulf Coast Financial Strategies), Treasurer
Dr. Edwin Goolsby, (PHSC, East Campus, Provost), Secretary
2020-2021 Directors:
Sam Abrahani, (Memco Properties)
Shane Barker, (Vitis Realty)
Kathy Britton, (Berkshire Hathaway Home Services)
Amy Chappell, (CenterState Bank)
Dino Defilippis, (Staples)
Dennis Harmeson, (Zephyrhills W/C Ministerial Association)
Alex Hulbert, (Dewberry)
Amanda Maggard, (CEO of AdventHealth Zephyrhills / Dade City)
Dean Smith, (Health Markets)
Kevin Sullivan, (Pipas Law Group)
Sam Turgeon, (Sunlight Realty & Zephyrhills Executive Offices)
David West, (Make a Difference)
Jasmine Wilkins (San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union)

For more information, contact the Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce. CEO Melonie Monson at (813) 782-1913 or email: [email protected]

Note: Complete lists of award nominees, award winner contact information and board contact information are available on request, photos of the banquet also available on request.
Call (813) 782-1913 or email: [email protected]
The Greater Zephyrhills Chamber of Commerce advances economic growth and prosperity for our community.
The Chamber of Commerce is incorporated in the State of Florida as a 501(c)6 nonprofit organization. Our membership is comprised of businesses, government agencies, public-private corporations, non-profit
organizations and individuals with a shared interest in preserving and enhancing the quality of life in Zephyrhills.
We promote a vibrant and active business climate supporting economic growth through leadership and active involvement by our membership.